Lost Menu in Monodevelop in Unity

Recently I got a new desktop computer on which I installed Ubuntu 11.04 Natty with the Unity UI. Yesterday I compiled Monodevelop 2.6 beta 3 (using the scripts described here) which worked fine – only when I run monodevelop the menu can’t be found anywhere: there is no menu in the monodevelop window nor in the global menu bar. Since it’s pretty hard to do any work without a visible menu, I decided to try to get this fixed.

A little bit of googling revealed that this is a bug that is known for a long time; there are several bug reports mentioning it. Eventually I found a pretty easy workaround: calling monodevelop with UBUNTU_MENUPROXY set to empty string makes the menu appear in the monodevelop window:

env UBUNTU_MENUPROXY= ./monodevelop-launcher.sh

Even nicer is to modify the monodevelop-launcher.sh script and set the UBUNTU_MENUPROXY there.

One Response to “Lost Menu in Monodevelop in Unity”

  1. Nathan Says:

    Nice, thanks! I’m the author of the install script. I hadn’t actually taken time to find the work around; I just switched to “gnome classic.” Thanks for this; you saved me some time!

Leave a Reply

