Getting the Microphone to Work

Today I tried to set up Skype on Ubuntu Hardy 8.04 on my Dell Latitude D830 laptop.

I quickly found the Skype package in the Medibuntu repository, installed it – it started up, I was able to login on Skype. Then I tried a test call: sound output worked, but not the (internal) microphone.

I googled around a bit and eventually was able to get it to work:

  • open Volume Control
  • go to Edit/Preferences
  • check the two Input Source checkboxes

This added a new Options tab where I could change the Input Source from Mic to Front Mic. Then it worked…

One Response to “Getting the Microphone to Work”

  1. Hugo Says:

    Hey!! thx!!!

Leave a Reply

