Security Update for SQL Server 2005 Service Pack 2 (KB948109) failed

During the last weeks Vista always claimed that there’s an update to install, but it never succeeded installing it. So this afternoon I dug into it.

The update in question was the Security Update for SQL Server 2005 Service Pack 2 (KB948109). It failed with error 11032. When looking at the log file in C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\90\Setup Bootstrap\LOG\Hotfix\SQL9_Hotfix_KB948109_sqlrun_sql.msp_13.log I saw another error: 1603. A search on the internet showed that a lot of people had similar errors with various patches, but nothing really helped. I also tried to install a hotfix (KB951217), but that didn’t help either.

Then I looked in the log file again and discovered somewhere in the middle of the file that it couldn’t access a folder named FTData. So I created it manually – and the update worked!

I should add that I have a non-standard location for my SQL Server instance which is probably the reason that the installer couldn’t do it automatically.

7 Responses to “Security Update for SQL Server 2005 Service Pack 2 (KB948109) failed”

  1. William Says:

    I havea similar error mesage, the KB48109 update remains in my tray and each install fails, the manual download nearly completes and fails at a hotfix.exe – the only file I have in my Hotfix folder is one hotfix.dmp file – which I will open when I can research the best program to do this

  2. William Says:

    If its of any use – I have two user accounts and as it tuns out only the administrator account suffers from the eternal update tray icon it may be a permission issue with SQL
    I will look into it

  3. William Says:

    I have gone through the MSSQL permissions with a fin tooth comb and don’t think this is where the problemlies. I halted the error and traced the hotfix.exe error message to the D:\cf4b97b7d731bbe84b7cf8ef42761302\hotfix.exe directory where I found that the Hotfix installer displayed the same error message if I tried to launch it – not a valid Win32 application…..

  4. William Says:

    It isn’t related although may be of interest, the install.exe showed an uninstalled certificate on my machine, you might like to check that

  5. William Says:

    The SQL VSS writer needs to be enabled – mine was and so this isn’t it…..

  6. William Says:

    Whew!! It is installed at last – to cut a long story short ~ The precarious hotfix designed specifically for this issue; followed by succesful installs of SP1, and SP2
    Voila

  7. Russell Says:

    I had a similar problem, but my logfile showed that the hotfix couldn’t create a file in the Z: drive. I happen to have a “subst z:” in my startup script, so I removed my Z: drive, and the hotfix installed successfully.

Leave a Reply

